top of page
Search

Are there BAD ideas?


Yesterday, as I have on many Mondays since November of last year (has it been that long – seems shorter AND has it been that short – seems longer!) I Zoom attended a class on WRITING A MEMOIR. (more on why this writing class in particular interested me in a future blog post). With each student reading their essay from the previous week. Each of us limited to reading 700-1200 words. We certainly can write more! We must adhere to a Confidentiality Agreement which I appreciate as I have found myself revealing more than I intended. The readings are (among other things) inspiring. I leave each class with notes for topics for my future essays and notes as to edit my past ones. I am spinning with ideas – some good, some bad.


But, I try desperately not to judge my topic notes as I write them, AND especially, to write them all down. I am prone to seeing some ideas as not even worth recording. I wish I didn't do this -- I am my own worst critic. Any and all ideas have some sort of worth, even if it's just in the act of acknowleging them... So, I guess what I am trying to say is this:


C A P T U R E E V E R Y I D E A

L.


bottom of page