top of page
Search

A connection to music and inspiration ?


I noticed today that I was inspired to paint… when I have been at a loss for a while now. What caused the inspiration (just inspired TO paint, not inspired to paint something in particular)? I realized that it was the music I was listening to. Really, only half listening to since I was working on the computer at the time. There was definitely something that was making me feel energetic and not just in some abstract way. I tried to make a connection to the band (Tom Petty) or to the song (Freefalling) but could not. But that was okay – I just appreciated the moment.


I have evidence that I am inspired by classical music. That whenever I attend live perfomances I wish that I have had a small pad of paper. And when I HAVE had that small pad of paper, I am regularly jotting down snippets of ideas. I have decided to use this music, to play it at home. Not just as background – but in the foreground. Sit with a pad and pencil and see what happens.


I intend to investigate this further, MY CONNECTION TO MUSIC AND CREATIVITY. To be more aware of how I am feeling when I play music. I encourage you to experiment -- play something you like, something you haven’t heard for a while. Pay attention to what happens…


On the RECOMMENDATIONS BLOG


I have included a link to an interesting article “How Music Affects the Brain and Increases Creativity.”


You will also find a link to an article published by the Denver Philharmonic outlining a worthwhile exercise called “Draw What You Hear.”

bottom of page